Veggie-Mozz Panini

Another panini recipe, this time vegetarian style and just as simple (here’s another one that I heart)

You’ll need:

-Panini or Italian bread

-Fresh mozzerella cheese

-Fresh basil

-Veggies to grill…my suggestions: eggplant, zucchini, red pepper, red onion

-Tomato

-3 Tb Balsamic Vinegar

-1 Tb Olive Oil

-Salt and pepper

Again, start off by heating up your panini maker. Next, start slicing up those veggies. I don’t like my tomatoes grilled so I leave those out, but if you like them that way throw them in. Once you have a nice pile of veggies, mix together in a bowl the balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and a dash of salt and pepper. I also sprinkle in some basil leaves at this point, but they are mostly to go with the mozzerella later. Throw the veggies right into the bowl and mix them up with the oil and vinegar. Sometimes I do this an hour or two before I cook so that the veggies can sit and marinate for a while. After mixing those up, grill the veggies. There are a few options for grilling the veggies, you can grill them right on the panini maker or George Foreman (if you do those you get those nice little grill lines that everyone likes to see). If it’s available, you can use a cast-iron griddle on your stovetop, of if nothing else you can sautee them in a frying pan. Let them heat up and sizzle for about 10 minutes. While they are cooking, prepare the rest of your sandwich. Slice up the fresh mozzerella, drizzle your bread in any leftover oil and vinegar you might have, or mix together a small amount you can use. Layer the sandwich as follows:

-Bread, mozz, some basil, veggies, mozz, tomato, some basil, mozz, bread

I prefer this recipe without any mayo or condiments, but the option is always there if you prefer it. Once you have the panini together, let it grill on the panini maker for about 5 minutes. Let the panini cool for a couple minutes, and dig in!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Jenna on October 20, 2008 - 12:42 AM

    I love the concept of your blog! I like to make my own food, and I’m really looking forward to seeing what other recipes you have. This panini sounds delicious, I can’t wait to make one!

  2. #2 by Kayla on October 23, 2008 - 11:59 PM

    I’m glad you enjoy the concept! If you are a student in Fredonia check in to see when our first episode of “Foodonia” will be airing. We made the panini’s so you can see first-hand how to make one.

Leave a Reply

