Tomato Basil Cheese Pie!

Tomato Basil Pie I’m not sure how to describe this, other than it is very tasty. It’s not a quiche, and it isn’t really a pie…make it yourself and let me know what you think 🙂

You’ll need:

-One pie crust (come on, just get the ready made kind by Pillsbury)

-1/2 c. + a handful of Cheddar or mozzerella cheese

-4 plum tomatoes

-1/2 c. mayo (get the low fat kind!)

-1/2 c. parmesan cheese

-1 c. loosely packed fresh basil

-1 bunch scallions

-Optional: fresh parsley and garlic

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Put the pie crust in your pie pan and bake for 6 minutes. Take the pic crust and layer with a handful of the cheddar or mozzerella cheese so that it starts to melt (to aid in the melting you can cover the crust with a lid or plate). Slice up your tomatoes and pat them dry with a paper towel (they don’t have to be dry, just not as gushy as they would normally be). Layer the tomatoes on top of the cheese. In a small bowl, mix mayo, cheddar cheese, parm, basil, scallions, and the parsley and garlic if you like. This mixture will be pretty think at this point. Use a spoon to drop into the pie, spread it out. Bake for 40 minutes and voila! You’ll have a tasty, cheesey pie!

*I had to make this recipe without fresh basil because it wasn’t available. You can use the spice, just slowly add it and make sure you don’t over do it.

, , ,

  1. #1 by VeggieGirl on November 25, 2008 - 10:43 PM

    Such a fun savory pie variety!

  2. #2 by jax09 on December 5, 2008 - 8:31 PM

    This sounds really interesting. I am not that good of a cook, but this recipe is really making me wish I was. I don’t live on campus so I haven’t been able to watch the show but I saw your blog and name on the Fredonia Web site for the student updates. Good job!!!

  3. #3 by Kayla on December 6, 2008 - 4:58 PM

    Don’t doubt yourself, if you have a mixing bowl and an oven you can pull this off. Just give it a try!

    Hopefully we will be broadcasting off campus next semester, so look for signs around campus. I live off campus, and so do the majority of my friends, so I’ve been pushing for it at the station. If not we do have episodes up on Google Video, just search “Foodonia.”

  4. #4 by gerrware on December 10, 2008 - 4:36 AM

    I wish I’d visited this blog sooner! I’ve had a huge revival in my cooking this semester and found some amazing recipes that I’ve been working off of. I’ll be following this one closely if you keep posting!

    I’ll make this in the near future and post back about it. What do you consider a “bunch” of scallions though? Some varieties can be pretty powerful and while I love the flavor I wouldn’t want to overdo it. And garlic should be mandatory for a dish like this!

    Thanks again.

  5. #5 by Kayla on December 10, 2008 - 4:50 AM

    That’s a good question about the scallions, I should have elaborated a little better! If you are using non-organic scallions (which tend to be large), I would suggest using 4-5 whole scallions. The organic ones are much smaller so I would say anywhere between 6-8, depending on how small they are.

    I will be keeping this blog up and running, so feel free to come back! I would love any easy recipe suggestions you have as well!

  6. #6 by Jon Carlson on December 11, 2008 - 5:07 AM

    I was just looking through all of your recipes and the best part about all of them is that they are simple to make. I cook for myself a couple times a week and its always simple, its either on the grill on on the oven burners.

    The recipes you blogged about all sound good, the tomato basil cheese pie in particular. I was thinking instead of the mayo, could you substitute it for cream cheese? It would seem like it is a better match, since its mixed with cheddar and Parmesan cheese. Its just a thought though

  7. #7 by Kayla on December 11, 2008 - 3:11 PM

    I can understand your apprehension about the mayo, when I was making the recipe for the first time I was like, “Eww…mayo?” However, it really does work (and I used a low fat kind since mayo isn’t the best thing in the world for you). My only concern about the cream cheese is that it’s a much thicker substance than mayo is. Even if you let it soften up, I’m not sure it would work. If you really wanted to switch up the mayo maybe you could try sour cream? If you try either let me know how they turn out!

  8. #8 by jax09 on December 12, 2008 - 2:10 AM

    Thanks for the info about being able to see it online. I think I may just have to give google a run for its money with Foodonia! Cool concept. I like it!

  9. #9 by Kayla on December 12, 2008 - 3:11 AM

    If you have any problems with the videos you can also find them at http://www.wnyftv.org. The video quality is a lot better.

Leave a Reply

