Mom’s Apple Pie!

 

Pic Heidi took for me

Pic Heidi took for me

Yes, I’ve finally gotten around to getting my mom’s awesome apple pie recipe on here. I made one myself recently and for my first pie experience I think it wasn’t too bad.

 

You’ll need:

-6 cups thinly sliced cooking apples (a bag of mac’s will work)

-1 c. sugar

-2 Tb flour

-1 tsp ground cinnamon

-“Dash” nutmeg

-1 Tb butter

-Crust: buy one or check out my post “Pie Crust” (you’re going to need a top layer crust too)

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. 

Mix together the sugar, flour, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a small bowl, set aside. Now peel and slice your apples (depending on how fast you are at doing this you will want to sprinkle the sliced apples with lemon juice to keep them from browning) into a large bowl. Pour and mix the sugar mixture into the apple bowl. Line a 9-inch pie pan with your crust and put just a dot of butter on the bottom. Fill with apple mix, and don’t be shy. Filling it up to the brim plus some not only makes the pie look really plump and juicy and great, but it will be. Plus, the top crust layer will help keep it all together. Of course, this is your last step. Layer the top pie crust on and pinch it together with the bottom crust, sealing it. DON’T FORGET to take  a fork or knife and clit the pie once it’s sealed, or you will have a mini pie explosion. 

Just before you put the pie in cover the edges of it with foil to keep your crust from burning. Bake for 25 minutes, remove the foil, and bake for 25 more (I found that I had to bake mine even longer to get the “golden brown” color everyone wants to see). 

Good luck and enjoy my Mom’s pie!!

  1. #1 by ALYSSA ELLEN BROOKE-GAY on February 28, 2009 - 1:10 AM

    This pie was absolutely delicious, and you are a better person for bringing it into my life…

  2. #2 by heidonism on February 28, 2009 - 8:32 PM

    We should have a pie making party and have a pie feast. I love pie!

  3. #3 by Kayla on March 3, 2009 - 1:10 AM

    Alyssa is going to guest cook our next episode and the entire thing is going to be devoted to dessets, I’m pumped! And I am totally down for a pie feast, name the date and time!

Leave a Reply

