I now have a Milkman!

My fresh, local half gallon and dozen eggs!

A few weeks ago I was walking my dog in the early morning as a milk truck passed by. That’s right, a good ol’ fashioned milk truck. Painted on the side was “Meadow Brook Farms Dairy.” I searched about the company and learned that they are located in Clarksville, NY, about half an hour south of Albany. Unfortunately, I found that the farm doesn’t yet have a web site, but I did find reviews of the milk and that it was sold at a local store, the Honest Weight Food Co-op on Central Ave. in Albany.

To make a long story short, I bought the milk at the co-op to try, liked it, and set up home delivery. As I said, Meadow Brook doesn’t have a web site, so contacting them and getting a return phone call took some patience. In fact, the first time I called the woman who answered said, “Well, he (the milkman) is out milking the cows right now. Can he call you back?”

After a few phone calls I set-up delivery, and received my first half gallon of skim milk and dozen eggs today in a cooler around 6 a.m. this morning. Coincidentally, the eggs are from Thomas’ Poultry Farm, which is located in Schuylerville, NY, very close to where I grew up. I actually know the family that runs the farm (the world gets a little smaller everyday) and am very happy to support their product.

So, If you live in the Capital Region and want to inquire about getting your own milkman, give Meadow Brook a call at (518) 768-2451.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kristen on July 7, 2011 - 8:29 PM

    I got my first delivery today! I forgot to ask them about the empties… do you know if it is OK to skip one week for leaving the empty milk bottle and leave two in the box the following week?

  2. #2 by Kayla on July 7, 2011 - 8:32 PM

    I’ve done that several times, mostly on accident on nights where I forgot to put the empty jug out. They’ve never said anything and always collect the extra one the following week. So I’d say as long as you don’t make a habit out of it, Meadow Brook doesn’t seem to mind.

    I hope you enjoy their milk as much as I do! I highly recommend getting the eggs as well.

Leave a Reply

