Beautiful Black Bean Burgers

This is a mixture of a bunch of veggie burger recipes I have found on the internet over the years, experimented with, and then molded into my own.

You’ll need:

-1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

-1/3 can of corn, drained

-1/4 cup diced red onion

-1/4 cup diced red bell pepper

-2 cloves garlic

-1 egg (if you use egg whites use two)

-1 cup bread crumbs (add more to thicken)

-1 Tb cumin

-1 tsp hot sauce

-1 tsp salt

-1 tsp pepper

Throw in some jalapeño or another hot pepper, if you’re feeling spicy.

*Note: Sometimes when I’m feeling lazy and/or don’t have fresh veggies around, I substitute the onion, corn, and red pepper for 1 cup of chunky salsa. This is an easy alternative. You will have to add more bread crumbs to counteract the moistness, however.

Drain and rinse black beans, pour into a large bowl. Mash about halfway- enough to hold everything together but not all the way through so all you have is mush. Add all ingredients listed above and stir together. If you find that your mixture is too moist, gradually add more bread crumbs until you find a consistency that you will be able to form patties with.

To cook or grill: My favorite way, and I believe the easiest way, is to cook these up in my George Foreman. They don’t get greasy and they stay together well. You can grill these, but make sure that you do it on a heavy foil, because my grilling experiences have resulted in the burgers crumbling. Lastly, you could fry these up in a pan with oil. Less healthy, but still tasty.

My favorite way to serve these burgers is on a nice hard roll (if you’re in Albany, check out Prinzo’s) with melted fresh mozzarella, basil, and a spicy mustard. Enjoy! Not that I am a brew master, but if I had to suggest a nice clean beer to pair with burger, I’d get a Hoegaarden (scroll down to Sept 2).

,

  1. #1 by theartistsquaff on September 15, 2010 - 6:03 PM

    In response to the beer pairing: You should always go with the beer you want to have because that will always taste best to you. So if you want a Hoegaarden with your burger, then do it man! or lady : )

    Traditionally, Amber/Red Ales go well with burgers, especially if they are thick and a little spicy. Because these are veggie burgers you can get away with something lighter. A Pale ale would be a good choice. It is easy enough to find something basic like a Saranac Pale Ale kicking around your grocery store. If you have the cash you could try something more exotic. A nice middle of the road beer (price wise) would be Brooklyn’s Penant Ale.

    If it were me, I would make a salad as a pre-course to the veggie burger, and have a Hoegaarden with that, and then bring out the burgers with some Penant Ale.

    Now I’m hungry.

  2. #2 by Kayla on September 16, 2010 - 9:34 PM

    Thanks for the beer pairing advice, I will have to take it into consideration next time I make a trip to Brew Crew. I agree that an amber ale would settle nicely with the veg burger.

    Now I’m thirsty.

  3. #3 by Leslie on September 20, 2010 - 5:26 PM

    I really want to try making these, but I wouldn’t have anyone to share them with because Scott’s palette is very limited. The only thing I would add to the burger would be guacamole!

  4. #4 by Kayla on September 20, 2010 - 5:41 PM

    There is an awesome restaurant/brewery here called “The Albany Pump Station.” They have the BEST veggie burger I’ve ever had, and you’re allowed to pick two (if I remember correctly) toppings. I always, always pick fresh mozzarella and guacamole. It’s so delicious, and they have amazing beer. When you finally make a trip here we will definitely go there for lunch or dinner.

Leave a Reply

