It’s apple pickin’ time

Fall hasn’t officially started yet, but it is certainly starting to feel like it so I went apple picking. We checked out Bowman Orchards in

 

Our purchased products

 

Rexford, NY (near Clifton Park) with friends. If you are looking for a variety of apples you certainly won’t be disappointed with Bowman’s selection. The picks we had to choose from today were Ambrosia, Cortland, Golden Delicious, Jonamac, Macintosh, Macoun, Pinova, Radiant Runkel, and Shamrock. I worked at a grocery store for a good five years of my life and hadn’t heard of half of those, so don’t feel bad if you haven’t either.

All in all, I have to admit it was pretty much the same apple picking experience as I’ve had anywhere else, but in a good way. There were apples, cider, and donuts. Mmm, donuts. And people. So. Many. People.

Yes, you can’t be surprised that it was busy. I mean, it’s September and I went on a Sunday. But Bowman’s has a very particular way of operating, and I can’t say I’m a fan. Let me describe:

First, you pull up to the special weekend entrance and get into a line of cars that make you feel as if you are at the drive-ins. You then pull through, very slowly, until you finally get to park (you are also driving through the orchard at this point, and all I could think about were the fumes infiltrating my soon to be picked apples). Now you think, “Yay! Apple time!” Which is true, now you go get a bag and pick your apples (we brought our own bag, otherwise you pay 25 cents, no biggie). We then made the mistake of attempting to walk to the registers to purchase our apples. No, no, no…you must go back to your car, wait in line with all the other ambitious pickers to check out in your car, much like an old drive-up hot dog stand. At this point you can purchase donuts and cider and be on your merry way. Oh, and by the way, be prepared for the staff to search your car. You know, for those apples you stashed in the trunk.

 

Line for check-out

 

At this point I feel as if I have waited in my car more than had the fun experience of picking apples. If I hadn’t been meeting friends at the bakery area (which you have to drive and yet again park for), I would have purchased my cider and donuts there and been on my merry way. From a marketing perspective, not the smartest choice. Don’t you want your customers to mingle and window shop and purchase more than they had planned? Anyway, we did park and ended up buying fudge and a cider slushie in addition to the cider and donuts we’d already planned on getting.

Don’t get me wrong, I had fun and enjoyed my day. Would I go back to Bowman’s or would I try another orchard and avoid the apple drive-thru? Probably the latter.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Leslie on September 20, 2010 - 5:25 PM

    I think I might be allergic to apples, but I am looking forward to going pumpkin picking! Remember when we used to go in Fredonia? I have to find a pumpkin patch around these parts and hopefully that one will have animals too like in Fredonia. As to your blog I really don’t think that is a cool way to pick apples, they might as well just hand them to you in a bag and let you pay for it like a drive through lol

  2. #2 by Kayla on September 20, 2010 - 5:39 PM

    Fall makes me miss Fredonia and our annual pumpkin picking trips. Maybe you should plan a trip up in mid-October, there are plenty of places outside of Albany! If we’re feeling really adventurous I could bring you to VT.

    We did get to pick our own apples, but the driving part was a bit of a downer for the situation. It was still fun though, and I made delicious apple crisp last night!

Leave a Reply

