Local Harvest Festival

 

Sponsor of the Local Harvest Festival

 

I recently added a page to my blog about “Events/Happenings” and my first post was about the Honest Weight Food Co-Op Local Harvest Food Festival. I’ve linked to the Co-Op a few times in my blog, and I am certainly a fan. They are the place to go if you are looking for local, organic, or natural food.

The festival was last Sunday, and after my apple picking adventure I checked out what was going on in Washington Park, where the event was located. It was a pretty small festival, but there were a lot of local businesses showcasing their products and services. I took a quick walk around and saw a variety of things: locally grown foods, vegan friendly businesses, clothing, animals, etc. I found out what an “heirloom tomato” was from a friend and felt a little smarter.

 

Tents at the Local Harvest Festival

 

All in all, the festival was okay. I was there toward the end and maybe things had quieted down, but there just didn’t seem to be much going on. Music was playing, but to be honest it was very slow and mellow, and on a cloudy day I just wasn’t feeling it. I had gone in hopes of being able to buy some food, which is what I imagine when going to a “festival.” There were some free samples and one stand selling food, but it just wasn’t what I was expecting. I was hoping there would be more.

In defense of the Co-Op, finding businesses that fit into the realm of what the Co-Op targets isn’t easy. Local businesses tend to be small and not have a huge profit margin, so that is probably why the festival wasn’t the big gathering I was expecting/hoping for. It was also the second year running, meaning the organization of this event is fairly new and will hopefully only grow and expand in the future.

All in all, I’m glad I went to check it out. I had some delicious cheese samples (wish I could remember the name of the company) and got to chat with good friends. I will go again next year and hope for a better experience!

,

  1. #1 by fintrade on September 22, 2010 - 8:52 PM

    This sounds good and delicious, I always like to go to places, where I can get the best food.

    I may get back to your site, when you have more of this stuff.

    Thanks
    http://fintrade.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

