Cheesecake. NOT from a factory.

Last weekend I bought a blueberry wine and have been waiting for my weekly “family dinner” with friends to enjoy it. The wine is

 

Cheesecake Machismo, picture taken from official Facebook page

 

delicious, but it is certainly a dessert wine and super sweet. The vineyard suggests pairing the wine with cheesecake, so I searched “cheesecake Albany, NY.” Of course, The Cheesecake Factory was the first thing to come up. Yes, I love their cheesecake just as much as every other person (I have to admit I’m actually not a huge fan of their food), but I wanted something local if I could find it.

The second place that came up was Cheesecake Machismo, located at 293 Hamilton Street in Albany. They don’t have a Web site, so I checked out some reviews, and the place is glorified, to say the least, so I hopped on my scooter and went.

My intentions were to buy half a plain cheesecake, thinking that if I wanted to absorb the flavor of my wine that I didn’t want a flavored cheesecake to distract me. I walked into Cheesecake Machismo and learned that I couldn’t exactly do that. They make their cheesecakes fresh, and if you want a half or whole cheesecake you need to order it four days in advance. A downer for me because I wasn’t aware of this and needed my cheesecake then, but still a positive because they are making fresh, for real, not frozen cheesecake. So, I’ll take it. Anyway, you can order slices of the different varieties they have that day, so I picked six for a half cheesecake.

 

Top=butter rum, middle=chocolate buzz, bottom=blueberry maple

 

They have a lot of different and fun kinds of cheesecake, it’s awesome. What’d I get? Two blueberry maple, chocolate buzz (with espresso beans), tiger stripes (Kahlua blended with caramel), butter rum, and one plain. Now, I’m going to be honest, this isn’t a cheap endeavor. It cost me $25 for six pieces of cheesecake. A little pricey, yes. However, I don’t buy cheesecake often, nor should I.

Favorite? Drum roll please….surprisingly enough, mine was butter rum. I say this with surprise because I typically like more shocking flavors, as in with ice cream and such. I found that the butter rum had the perfect amount of richness and flavor to make it extraordinarily enjoyable. Too often when tasting cheesecake I think, “Yeah, this is amazing, but it’s so rich I can only eat two bites.” Not with Cheesecake Machismo. It was perfect. I could eat the whole thing. Other fan favorites within my dinner party? Three votes for chocolate buzz, so if you go you better give that one a try too.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Leslie on October 13, 2010 - 10:42 PM

    I’ve never really tried cheesecake even though I go to the Cheesecake Factory all the time. I think next time I go I’m going to try a plain slice because of this blog. Hopefully I’ll have a good experience so that when I come visit you (crossfingers) I can enjoy a slice from Cheesecake Machismo.

  2. #2 by Kayla on October 14, 2010 - 12:00 AM

    The only reason to go there and try the Cheesecake Factory cheesecake is so that when you come to Albany and try cheesecake from Cheesecake Machismo you realize how much better the Machismo is. Plus, both places are really expensive, wouldn’t you prefer to give your money to a local businessperson than a national chain? Say yes, please.

Leave a Reply

