The Albany Pump Station (Albany, NY)

If you live in the Albany area and haven’t heard of or been to the Albany Pump Station, you might live under a rock. The restaurant/brewing company, C.H. Evans Ale, is very well-known for its delicious food and beer that is brewed in house. I took a trip last night and figured it was about time to blog about it.

The atmosphere itself is pretty cool, no matter where you sit. It has an old warehouse feel to it (it might be/likely is one, I imagine from the name) with super-high ceilings and exposed pipes. There are large glass windows that allow customers to see the brewing process as is. The restaurant itself is huge and has an upstairs dining area as well.

The food itself is excellent and last night was no exception. As a vegetarian, I will admit that they don’t have the largest variety of vegetarian options, but you can certainly eat there. Plus, they have the best veggie burger I’ve ever had (aside from my own, of course). You can get get up to two toppings, more for $1 each, and it comes with fries. I’ve been to the restaurant four or five times now, and always gotten the veggie burger until last night.

Last night we were motivated to go because I had a B.O.G.O Entertainment book coupon, up to a $17 value. So I went all out and got a pasta entrée (as a poor college student, that’s a big deal compared to the $8 veggie burger) of “Fresh Eggplant Lasagna.” To say it was delicious is a huge understatement. It was the combination of two perfect worlds: eggplant parm and vegetable lasagna. It came with two pieces of garlic bread, which I happily dipped into the rich sauce from the lasagna. It was also massive, I brought half home and can not wait for leftovers later for dinner.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Of course, we also ordered beer. I started with the seasonal Oktoberfest, which I found smooth and very appealing. My second round was a “Quackenbush Blonde,” which was light and refreshing. You can check out their beer on tap on the web page, but they don’t seem to update it. For a recent review of their beer check out The Artist’s Quaff, who did the “Kick Ass Brown Ale” for the Beer of the Day on Sep. 29. He gave a fair review, don’t judge all their beer on it though, the Kick Ass is just one of many, and its won lots of awards.

My fiance and I also finally decided to step up and buy our own growler from the pump station. The pump station growler is 2L and to buy brand new, filled, is between $27-32. Bonus: bring it back to fill and take home runs you between $9-12. AWESOME. We filled it up with the Quackenbush Blonde and now have Evans Ale sitting in our fridge.

All in all, I would say I like the Pump Station, if you haven’t gotten that hint. If you haven’t been, you need to go, and if you have, well it’s about time for a return visit, right? Beer is rotated so chances are you can try something new next time you go. They have a good price range too, expensive meals if you are going all out and well-priced burgers, soups, and salads. Just check it out.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Valerie on October 29, 2010 - 5:49 PM

    Last night was my first night there and I loved it!! I was seriously considering that lasagna but ended up going with the pump station burger instead since the waitress recommended it. Next time I know what I’m getting!

  2. #2 by Kayla on October 29, 2010 - 5:52 PM

    We must have just missed each other! I was there for a late dinner though. Chris loves the pump station burger, and I usually rock the veggie one.

    We should go there to celebrate in the spring with our little graduating class!

  3. #3 by Valerie on October 29, 2010 - 6:28 PM

    Did you sit in the dining room? I was for a late dinner too. We left just before 9. And I totally second going there as a graduation present to ourselves. We deserve it!

  4. #4 by Kayla on October 29, 2010 - 6:33 PM

    We sat in a booth in front of the bar, and we left around 9:30 so we were probably there at the same time!

  5. #5 by Rob on October 29, 2010 - 7:39 PM

    I was there too!

  6. #6 by Wade Abbott on October 31, 2010 - 2:15 AM

    Kayla… excellent slideshow. It’s makin’ me hungry. And thirsty.

Leave a Reply

