The moment you’ve been waiting for: A Pickle Post

There are few things in my life that I can’t live without, and pickles are on of those things. Classic dill is my favorite, although I’m not one to pass on some delicious bread & butter.

Sainato's Market homemade pickles

My pickle obsession began in my early days. I discovered a deli within walking distance from my high school, the Washington Square Deli, in Greenwich, NY. Ah it’s so gross to think about now…but I used to walk down to the deli after school/before sports practice for a pickle. I have aged since then, I can’t even imagine downing a whole pickle and then running around, but that’s beside the point.

Eating whole pickles might seem downright disgusting to some, but to me it is glorious. Finding a place that takes the time to make their own pickles is something that I appreciate very much. While buying whole pickles from the grocery store isn’t awful, everyone knows that homemade is better. Today I found a new place for pickles, Sainato’s Market, at 423 Quail St. in Albany.

I learned about Sainato’s from some friends that moved to Albany recently, one of which posted about their delicious subs on “A Tale of Two Slices.” If you’re looking for a great little shop for deli meat or sandwiches, check out this place. Or, if you’re looking for  pickles. They were selling garlic as well as sour pickles for my visit, and I bought a garlic (as did my fiance, who didn’t wish to share with me).

The pickle itself was pretty good, although it lacked the snap/crunch that makes a pickle perfect. I enjoyed having a pickle with a different flavor, not something I’d tried before. I was informed that the pickles at Sainato’s usually have that snap I was craving, just this batch hadn’t quite gotten there yet. I can appreciate that though, it’s the risk you take with the homemade pickle process.

PS- I love pickles, hate cucumbers. Weird, right?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Sam on November 5, 2010 - 7:33 PM

    Is it a condiment?? A side??? A MEAL?!?!?!? WHAT IS IT?!?!!!!!!1!!1

  2. #2 by Kayla on November 5, 2010 - 7:37 PM

    I believe the best way to enjoy an entire pickle is to make it a snack. Although, if you split one of these with someone it would qualify as a side. My opinion, anyway.

  3. #3 by chris on November 5, 2010 - 7:38 PM

    @ sam; I think it is safe to say it is definitely NOT a condiment.

  4. #4 by Jackie on November 5, 2010 - 8:04 PM

    How does a vegetarian hate cucumbers?
    Anyway–one word: Wickles. If you love pickles and love spicy food, Wickles are where it’s at. I discovered them in college when I lived in Alabama and now they are sold nation-wide. If you are a pickle lover, you must try them! Check it out: http://www.simsfoods.com/

  5. #5 by Kayla on November 5, 2010 - 8:07 PM

    Oh wow, thanks for the info. I shall be searching for Wickles on my next trip to the store.

    And about the cucumbers, I ate too many “cucumber sandwiches” at one time when i was about twelve and got sick. For me, cukes=pukes.

Leave a Reply

