Mac’s Diner in (Schuylerville, NY)

Occasionally diner food happens. You wake up, think about home fries and hotcakes, and drive to your local diner. Diner food doesn’t vary much, which is probably why they have become fairly standard across America. Eggs, bacon, toast. Mmm. Mac’s Diner is about an hour north of Albany, not far from my hometown of Greenwich, NY at 106 Broad St. in Schuylerville. It’s pretty standard diner dining; the perfect cure for the hangover or your post-Church meal (yes, I just put those in the same sentence).

Mac’s Diner doesn’t have a Web site, and I’m not sure when it opened, but it has been around for a while. It’s on the main street of Schuylerville and it’s closest competition is Eli’s Broad Street Breakfast just down the street. For the record, I prefer Eli’s. They also serve diner food, but they have some tasty, local selections to choose from. However, Eli’s is tiny and you often are waiting for a table, which is exactly why I ended up at Mac’s last weekend.

 

The "Mac Cheese" and home fries at Mac's Diner

 

The special of the day was a “Mac Bun” with home fries. Despite what the menu says, a “Mac Bun” is a hard roll with egg, cheese, and a sausage patty (the menu calls this a “Mac Bun Meat”). Being the savvy vegetarian I am, I double-checked with my order and turns out I was seeking a “Mac Cheese.” Regardless, I got a hard roll with egg and cheese, served with home fries.

I got my order and it was as expected. Plain white plate with food and no frills. I’m a fan of presentation, and trying to make such a plain meal look a little prettier wouldn’t have been a bad idea, but…it’s still a diner. It also was an egg and cheese sandwich, something I could have easily made at home, but I ordered anyway (my own fault). All in all, it was satisfying. I do give props to the chef on the home fries, they weren’t greasy at all. I didn’t even know that was possible with home fries.

Mac’s Diner is an average diner that will satisfy your weekend breakfast cravings. I wouldn’t make a trip for it, but next time I’m in town I will swing by again (after checking Eli’s first, of course).

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Sam on November 16, 2010 - 11:52 PM

    I know that Mac’s is more “authentic” diner fare, and I’ve had people tell me that Eli’s is overpriced… but I just find myself constantly siding with Eli’s. I have to really work myself into a mood to actually want Mac’s over Eli’s (usually a mood accompanied by hangovers). Have you TRIED Eli’s veggie omelet and home-baked oatmeal bread? It’s UNREAL.

  2. #2 by P.V. on July 16, 2013 - 11:28 AM

    Mac’s diner serves excellent food at affordable and fair prices. Since you are a vegetarian I don’t think you really qualify to critique a restaurant which serves food for omnivores. Also I suspect you are a member of their cult/”church” attempting to trash their competition. It seems obvious to me but this would be unknown by someone from without the area unfamiliar with this group.

  3. #3 by Kayla on July 16, 2013 - 11:41 AM

    If by “excellent food” you mean very greasy, extremely basic, sub-par diner food, then yes– you are correct! In addition, you’re right, vegetarians don’t belong in restaurants (*sarcasm*).

    I am from the area originally and am familiar with the “cult/church” you are referencing (if I remember correctly, on Windy Hill Rd in Greenwich). I personally do not have a problem with this group, but no, I am not a member and do not favor their business. Rather, I favor good food.

    As for your last sentence, I’m completely unclear as to what you are attempting to say (“…unknown by someone from without the area unfamiliar with this group.”)

    But HEY, thanks for trolling my blog! Have a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

