Cheese and scallion omelette

I have to apologize because until I wrote this post I was not aware that I didn’t already have a “breakfast” category. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and while I have a “main dish” category for meals, breakfast is truly its own adventure.

That said, this recipe is a throwback to my college days/friends, who didn’t know how to cook and needed simple recipes. Here’s what you need for this simple omelette: 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 egg, beaten

1 Tb milk

1 scallion, diced

Pinch of salt and pepper

Less than a cup of shredded cheese (I used mozz for this because it’s what I had, but I suggest cheddar)

Heat up a greased griddle or pan. Add the milk to the beaten egg and mix, sprinkle in the salt and pepper. Pour this onto the hot griddle and let it cook for 30 seconds to one minute before adding on the cheese and scallion. Sprinkle those on top when ready, then fold the omelette in half. I don’t like the “runny” stuff, so i flatten it a bit with a spatula and get everything cooked. It might help to flip it once to get everything cooked. Flop it onto a plate, squeeze some ketchup (of you’re me), and enjoy!

This can easily be changed to add whatever veggies or toppings you desire, but now you’ve got a basic recipe to start with.

PS- The “sausage” you see in the slideshow above is Morningstar Farms breakfast sausage and is really, really good. I recommend all of their meatless products.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Wade Abbott on November 16, 2010 - 8:23 PM

    Great use of the slideshow Kayla. It’s like watching breakfast being made.

    And oh yeah… ketchup on eggs rocks.

  2. #2 by Kayla on November 16, 2010 - 9:30 PM

    Glad you agree, Wade. Chris HATES when he sees me with the Heinz bottle. I can’t get enough.

  3. #3 by Sam on November 17, 2010 - 1:35 AM

    why do my NEVER look that nice? either mine get too dry or never fold right. what’s your technique to get that perfect fold??

  4. #4 by Kayla on November 17, 2010 - 1:47 AM

    As you can see in the pic, I let the omelette cook a tad longer than usual. This helps ensure a beautiful fold. It also helps to use a griddle as compared to a pan. It’s flat so gives you full range of momement.

  5. #5 by Curtisdal on April 8, 2017 - 7:25 PM

    jiarqge

  6. #6 by saraut60 on August 29, 2017 - 10:59 AM

    Started up to date spider’s web throw
    http://date.inc.xblog.in/?entry.mina
    dating agency cape town date brazilian women swingers in london free local dating asian hookup

Leave a Reply

