Midtown Tap & Tea Room

I am very pleased to announce that I have FINALLY found a place in Albany that I enjoy the coffee. This might seem strange to some, but so far I have not had good luck (and will gladly take your suggestions).

The Jam and Brie bagel sandwich. Heavenly.

The Midtown Tap & Tea Room is conveniently close to my apartment, but worth the trip if you are in the Albany area and in need of coffee, a snack, a meal, and/or an alcoholic beverage. They opened fairly recently and have a Facebook page that they update.

Why am I fan? First of all, they support local companies and local food. Awesome. Secondly, they have very reasonable prices, especially considering the delicious food served up. I highly encourage you to check out their menu for yourself to see what I mean. Thirdly, the atmosphere is very classy and welcoming. If you walk in to the front doors there is an elegant bar to the left, an array of tables to choose from on the right, and interesting art on the wall. Check out the slideshow on their home page to see pictures.

Midtown started serving brunch on Sundays in mid-November, and I went this past weekend. I got a coffee and a bagel sandwich, the jam and brie (cinnamon raisin bagel, to be specific). As a general rule I try to not order the same thing when I’m out to eat, I like variety and new things. However, I’d been to Midtown on one occasion before and HAD to get this sandwich again. Delicious. It isn’t anything too scientific, a bagel with apples, brie, and jam (I believe it was black raspberry, but I might be mistaken). I could easily make this at home. However, this tasty sandwich in combination with an elegant atmosphere will keep me going back.

For my fellow dog lovers, I noticed a family sitting on the “porch”/outdoor dining area on my way inside. I am under the impression that Midtown supplied water for the dog while the family ate. Made me smile. I like people that like dogs (for you non-dog lovers, there is safety inside! haha).

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Sam on November 23, 2010 - 7:30 PM

    that looks sooooo goooooood. i’m jelly.

  2. #2 by Kayla on November 23, 2010 - 7:44 PM

    When are you getting here/leaving? I would gladly go again.

Leave a Reply

