Daily Grind/Lark St Cafe (Albany, NY)

Breakfast burrito

I’ve been rocking the breakfast scene in Albany lately, and quite frankly, loving it. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. Not so much on weekdays, where cereal is where it’s at. No, I’m talking about a weekend egg/toast/home fries/pancakes/waffles adventure.

I recently stopped on Lark Street at the Daily Grind for the first time. From what I understand, the Daily Grind is actually a retail shop that sells coffee, tea, and accessories. The cafe itself is called Lark St Cafe, at least that’s what I gather from the internet. I may be wrong.

My fiance and I walked in with the intentions of grabbing coffee and something to go, but were invited to sit down by a nice employee and couldn’t resist. The smell of eggs and fresh toast was too much to not check it out. We each ordered a coffee and orange juice (which was Nantucket Nectar juice and is the best out there, in my opinion) and sat down to check out the menu. The menu is small, and I don’t see the breakfast menu on their Web site, but they had the basics and then some. Oh, and the coffee was very good. A bit strong, but definitely a good cup of coffee.

Chris ordered a breakfast burrito (pictured above), which was home fries, sausage, egg, and cheese on a wheat wrap. It looked good,

Eggs menagerie

and he seemed to enjoy it. I ordered one of the specials, which was eggs “menagerie” with rye toast (pictured right). Essentially it was an omelette, but what made it amazing was the fresh spinach and perfectly melted cheese (American possibly?). I’ve grown really fond of fresh spinach over the years and the incorporation of it into an omelette was delightful. The rye toast that came with it was swirled and didn’t taste much like rye to me, it was seedless and had very, very subtle rye flavors. I actually wondered if maybe I’d been given the wrong bread, but I think it was just a weak rye compared to what I’m used to.

I will certainly go back to the Daily Grind, and perhaps buy a bag of coffee to make for myself at home. I’d give it a chance if you’re in the Albany area.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Babygirl on December 20, 2010 - 11:54 PM

    Great review and the food looks good

  2. #2 by alicialegg on December 30, 2010 - 6:15 PM

    Great post! Gave me some good ideas for breakfast – I always get stuck into the pancake / french toast rut.

Leave a Reply

