French Onion Soup

There are two soups in this world I like (I know, weird, shaddup): broccoli & cheese and French onion. I would argue that broccoli &

French onion soup

cheese isn’t really soup, but whatever. French onion has grown on me over the years, but I haven’t been able to eat it in a long time because it’s always made with beef broth. So, I made one myself.

You’ll need:

4 cans vegetable broth (yeah, yeah get beef if you need)

5 large yellow onions, sliced

3 cloves garlic

4 Tsp. sugar

3 Tb. vegetable oil

Loaf of French bread, sliced

2 c. white cheddar cheese

Salt and pepper to taste

Heat the oil in a large pot on medium heat. Add sliced onions and simmer for about 10 minutes, until onions are tender but not browned. Add the sugar, salt, and pepper and cook an additional 15 minutes. Add garlic and broth and bring to a boil. As soon you get a boil, lower the heat to medium-low and simmer for an additional 15 minutes. While the soup simmers turn the broiler on your oven, slice the bread, grate the cheese.

When the soup is done pour it into oven-friendly bowls (I finally had an excuse to use the sub-par pottery I made in college) and top with a little bit of cheese, bread, and more cheese. I would suggest placing the bowls on a sturdy baking sheet and using that to transfer into the oven. Broil for three minutes or until the cheese begins to brown. Be careful removing from the oven and enjoy when cooled a little bit!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by alicialegg on January 13, 2011 - 12:59 PM

    Great recipe Kayla – I will certainly try it. Kayla, I thought of you this week. My friend sent me a gift that will solve all of my “chopping” work in the kitchen. I have a basement full of these items, so I wasn’t convinced. But now that I have it, I am a huge fan! My son (who is six) chopped all of my items for a risotto yesterday- onions, peppers, garlic and parsley. He was done with all of that before I was even ready to use them. He thought it was so much fun to pull that cord and chop the stuff inside. I admit, I had fun using it too. I just had to pass along the good word. http://www.amazon.com/Tupperware-Chop-N-Prep-Chef/dp/B004198JOA

  2. #2 by Kayla on January 16, 2011 - 8:03 PM

    Hmm thanks for the info! I have a Pampered Ched food chopper which seems to be something similar and I love it. It’s so easy when you have a lot of veggies to do, although I wish the cleaning of it was a bit easier.

Leave a Reply

