Wine Update!

Our bottled Shiraz Merlot!

I know you are all beside yourself wondering what is happening with my wine. Never fear. Here is an update for you. 26 1/2 bottles of wine later…

We have officially entered the final stage of the wine-making process, meaning that is bottled and sitting, taking its time to absorb flavors and become increasingly more delicious. My thoughts so far? It’s okay. Honestly, I’ve never had wine so fresh, so I don’t know what I’m supposed to think. Of course, recommendations from every wine book state to leave it be, the longer I wait the better it will be. But, duh, I want to drink it now.

So here’s my plan. We’re waiting two weeks before we open our first bottle to taste. I tasted at bottling and it’s good, and definitely wine, but kind of boring. Again, the man at the wine store said to just be patient. So we are going to wait two weeks (which admittedly isn’t being very patient in the wine world), see how the taste may have improved. We are going to set aside at least five bottles to reserve and drink one a year. The other bottles we will pass out to friends and family, encouraging them to hang on to for at least a few months before drinking (let’s be honest, I don’t have a lot of room for wine bottles all over my apartment). What they day with it is out of my hands.

The last stage before bottling involved waiting for the wine to clear, which we did. Then you add a liquid that stops further fermentation, which seems to have made it cloudy again. So I’m really hoping that the waiting in the bottles will help the wine to settle and become pretty again, but I don’t think it is going to happen. Regardless, it’s still drinkable.

And that’s my wine story. I think our next batch is going to be a Riesling, which I’m pretty excited about. Anyone who wants to save wine bottles for me so I can reuse them, I would really appreciate it!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Sam on February 4, 2011 - 2:08 AM

    Dear Foodonia,

    After you take into account the costs of the kit, the bottles, the grapes, etc… then end up with 26 1/2 bottles of wine… what would you say would be the total cost (not counting your labor) of each bottle?

    Sincerely,

    -AppetiteforMAD

  2. #2 by Kayla on February 4, 2011 - 3:08 AM

    Well the kit is somewhere around $160, wine concentrate kits $80ish, and various supplies along the way…$20, so about $10 a bottle. Granted, future rounds we will only have to buy the concentrate kits, so the price will be significantly reduced. On top of that, I got everything for Christmas from my awesome parents…so I would say I’m making out pretty well in the end!

  3. #3 by alicialegg on February 9, 2011 - 5:50 PM

    I have always wanted to make wine and I am so glad to live vicariously through your experience so that I can have some tips to learn from. This is exciting and very inspiring!

  1. Update of the Wine Update « Foodonia

Leave a Reply

