Doggie Dishes: PUPcakes!

Mango enjoying her birthday pupcake

In celebration of my dog’s first birthday I’ve decided to start a new category of posts, “Doggie Dishes.” Not having much experience in creating dog treats I searched online and found the “Top 10 Best Homemade Dog Treat Recipes” and used the third, “Party Pupcakes.” I was drawn to it because, first of all, it was a dog treat in cupcake form and it was my dog’s birthday, and secondly because the ingredients were simple and I didn’t think they would mess with my dogs’ system too much.

You’ll need:

1 large apple, cored and diced into small pieces

1 1/2 c. wheat flour

1/4 c. oatmeal

1/2 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 c. plain yogurt

1/2 c. water

1/4 c. vegetable oil

2 Tb. honey

2 eggs

1 c. cheddar cheese

*For the frosting*

Pupcakes, pre-frosting

8 oz. cream cheese, softened

2 Tb plain yogurt

2 Tb honey

2-3 Tb flour

1 Tb peanut butter (my own personal addition, every dog loves peanut butter)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and grease a muffin pan. In a large bowl mix all dry ingredients (except cheese and apple…if those are considered dry). In a small bowl whip the wet ingredients. Stir in diced apple and cheese into wet mixture, mix. Pour into large bowl with flour mixture and stir. Pour into muffin pans (I had a 12 muffin pan and only had to make one batch), about 3/4 of the way full.

Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes (or until a toothpick comes out clean, just like cupcakes you’d make for yourself). While the “pupcakes” bake, mix together all ingredient for the frosting in a small bowl. When pupcakes are cool, ice them and serve one up to your dog! Our dog ate hers in a flash, so I’m going to guess she liked it (PS both my fiance and I were tempted to try them, so we did. Gross. They don’t have sugar, aside from the honey, so I’m not sure what we were thinking).

NOTE ABOUT FEEDING: We’ve given the dog about one a day since her birthday, since we baked 12, and it hasn’t affected her stomach at all. However, when I give them to her I also give her a little less dog food. They’re pupcakes, they aren’t small, so I would suggest doing the same for your own dog.

, ,

  1. #1 by KD on March 1, 2011 - 3:46 AM

    “has it been doing that the whole time?”
    “Kind of… yeah”
    hahaha

    tell mango I said Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

