Miss Albany Diner (Albany, NY)

There are quite a few diners in Albany, the but the Miss Albany Diner seems to be the most revered by the locals. It frequents the

Miss Albany Diner veggie panini

pages of the Metroland, has found itself into a few movies, including Ironweed (totally have not seen it) with Jack Nicholson and Meryl Streep, and some public service ad’s as well.

The diner itself is old-fashioned, tiny, could use some work, but serves good food and that’s really all that matters. Plus, I think people like it for what it is, it’s no fluff, an antique, and probably is going to stay that was for a long time.

They don’t have a Web site, but they do regularly post on their Facebook page. If you’re trying to find it, it’s located next to Wolff’s Biergarten, which also serves up a mean breakfast, on Broadway in Albany. Another commonality that Wolff’s and Miss Albany shares is the no credit card policy. Cash only, kids.

Miss Albany serves up breakfast and lunch, they close daily at 2:15. I went for lunch with a friend and ordered around 1:40ish, and was immediately served my check. Kind of thought to myself that was rude, until I saw a little note on the bottom of the check, “Bill is here, ain’t no snub. Have no fear, eat more grub.” So, I guess it’s kind of there thing to do. I wouldn’t say it’s great for business, because even though I could order more food, then I would be wasting paper and taking up more of the server’s time…but on the other hand it was nice to know I didn’t have to wait for the bill. I’m undecided on the matter.

I ordered a veggie panini, substituted the swiss cheese for smoked gouda (who doesn’t love gouda?!), and forgot to order without olives so got some of that action too. There was also red pepper, onion, and tomato. Pretty much classic veggie panini action, served with chips. We also got some home fries to share (wanted French fries but the fryer was done…which I feel eliminates half of a diner’s menu haha).

I really appreciated this, mostly because I think the Atkin's Diet is pretty dumb

All in all, it was a pretty standard experience, but it was good. I certainly am going to go again, this time in the morning hours, so I can hit up some breakfast diner food. I can’t say that I yet understand the fascination that people have for Miss Albany, but I can say it is a good place and I would give it a go if you haven’t been.

Plus, after you can always walk 100 feet to Wolff’s for a beverage (they serve brunch on weekends).

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Jackie on March 28, 2011 - 1:13 PM

    All I know about this place is that my friend went on and on about egg creams. He is from Rhode Island and he said this is the only place in Albany you can find one. So, if anyone wants an egg cream…this is the place.

  2. #2 by alicialegg on March 28, 2011 - 2:51 PM

    The panini looked good. Were the prices reasonable?

  3. #3 by Kayla on March 28, 2011 - 3:32 PM

    Whoops, totally forgot to mention prices…fail! Haha. It’s very easy to go here and spend less than $10 on a meal. With two coffees, two meals, and a side order of homefries our total was still well below $30.

Leave a Reply

