Cafe Madison (Albany, NY)

Mediterranean Omelette from Cafe Madison, complete with mimosa.

One of my most favorite things in life is breakfast. It’s my favorite meal of the day, honestly. No matter what it is, I’m pretty pumped about it. Cereal? Delicious. Toast? Awesome. Eggs? Get outta town, I ❤ eggs (clearly I am not vegan material).  Finding a good breakfast spot is a little slice of heaven for me, and Cafe Madison in Albany is definitely a good breakfast spot (and future dinner spot, according to their site).

For myself and many other Saint Rose/Pine Hills neighbors, Cafe Madison is in a prime location. If you’re familiar with Albany, it’s at 1108 Madison Ave, just where Western Ave. and Madison Ave. split. It’s very much within walking distance to Saint Rose and, uhhh Trustco Bank, if you bank there. Personally, what I find nice about it at this time of year is the outdoor seating. Not many/not enough Albany restaurants offer this, and I’m not sure why because I love sunshine.

Unfortunately for patrons and fortunately for Cafe Madison, it is a well known Albany place for breakfast. If you’re going, plan on a wait…that sometimes is too long and you end up at Bruegger’s a few doors down, especially on the weekends. Weekdays, if you can do it, will give you a much better chance at being seated right away.

I’ve gone twice to Cafe Madison in the past few months, and both times have been extremely satisfied both with the food and the service. I ate outside on both occasions, and the first time I enjoyed a mimosa since I had just finished my capstone presentation for grad school! (insert happy face here). I’ve also heard they serve a great Bloody Mary, but tomato juice isn’t my thing. I ordered a Mediterranean omelette, without mushrooms (check out the full menu here) for my breakfast. Don’t let the picture fool you, it looks like a plain omelette but hidden inside were delicious spinach leaves, feta and tomatoes. The home fries are very good and not greasy, which I love. All seasoned perfectly.

The second time I went was also a pleasant dining experience, aside from the part where I watched my scooter get a parking ticket. (For future reference, there

Eggs Benedict- do these not look perfect? Oh em geeee

is a parking lot in the back- don’t be dumb like me, use it. Or bring plenty of quarters, unlike me.) I ordered a different style of eggs which is fast growing on me, eggs benedict. I like this style mostly because the eggs aren’t fried, they are boiled. I’ve had this style (I’m not sure if “style” is what I need here- but you get what I mean) before at Wine N Diner, although it’s served more classically at Cafe Madison. When I say that the eggs at Cafe Madison were cooked perfectly, I mean P-E-R-F-E-C-T-L-Y. They were soooo good, the cheese was melted perfectly, the eggs were runny but not too over/under done. I have been trying to mimic this at home and I just can’t pull it off. Major props to the chef.

The friend I went with on the second occasion, who brightened my scooter parking ticket experience by giving me a sweet Wheel of Fortune toy, ordered the Tuscan frittata, pictured below. I won’t speak for her, but judging from the picture I am going to say it was pretty delicious.

Some Tuscan Frittata action

If it seems like I am gloating about Cafe Madison, it’s because I am. I really, really like it and look forward to my next visit. The prices are reasonable, up to $10 a plate but easily less, the staff has always been pleasant, and again- outdoor seating. I suggest going and giving it a try for yourself!

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Daniel B. on June 9, 2011 - 1:46 AM

    Let me first apologize, because sometimes I just can’t help myself.

    1) The eggs are poached, not boiled. Boiling eggs is something reserved for in-shell preparations, like soft-boiled eggs (yum). If you are trying to boil them at home, that could be causing you some difficulties.

    2) If you want to see a perfectly poached egg, I invite you to check out the rare picture posted on the FLB here:
    http://fussylittleblog.com/2011/05/08/mothers-day-brunch/ (I’ve never seen anything like it before)

    3) I don’t think that’s cheese. At least not on eggs Benedict. That marvelous sauce is hollandaise, and it is made from egg yolks. But maybe it is a cheese sauce because those don’t look like eggs Benedict with a slice of tomato and raw green leafy things peaking out the bottom.

    4) I have some very strong feelings about frittate and from the looks of it, the Cafe Madison one is passing itself off as something it’s not. And that just makes me irrationally angry.
    http://fussylittleblog.com/2010/11/16/its-not-an-omelet/

    I am very glad that you found a breakfast place that you like, especially one with a lovely outside patio. And you may be very glad that I’m not going to making the line any longer for you on weekend mornings. Have you tried the brunch at the Wine Bar on Lark? I hear they have a patio too.

  2. #2 by Kayla on June 17, 2011 - 1:52 PM

    “Boiled” was a poor choice of wording, and not what I meant. My poached egg experiences are gradually getting better, thanks to many viewings of how to do so on YouTube, haha. The picture you posted looks amazing, I’m very jealous.

    I have not yet been to the Wine Bar on Lark, I wasn’t aware that they served brunch. I will definitely have to check that out soon. Another breakfast place I’ve been to is brunch at Wolff’s Biergarten on weekends, but I’m not terribly in love with that, to be honest.

Leave a Reply

