Jumpin Jack’s Drive-In (Scotia, NY)

Haven’t posted in a while! Been busy with a new job and also tending to my garden (next post will be about that). This summer has been packed with activities, as most are. I made a stop for a summer dinner recently that is fairly legendary in the area, Jumpin Jack’s Drive-In in Scotia, NY, just outside of Schenectady.

Honestly, Jumpin Jack’s doesn’t have the most amazing food. It certainly isn’t disappointing, it’s what you’d expect from a drive-in.

Jumpin Jack's fish fry dinner

They’ve got burgers, hot dogs, fish fry, cole slaw, and a few other things. What makes this place unique is the atmosphere that seems to be unchanged from the 1950s. JJ’s (I don’t know if anyone calls it that, but I am now) was built in 1952 and was originally just the soft serve stand. In ’57 the Charcoal Pit was added, and JJ’s became what it remains today. For more info and pics, check out their information page.

If you’ve seen on my previous posts, or know me, I’ve been a vegetarian for about three years. About a month ago I made a switch and started eating fish (sorry, I was getting bored), so now I’m a “pescatarian.” I never really ate fish before, so it’s been a new adventure for me. I tried fish fry for the first time at JJ’s. I can’t compare it to anything else, so I will say it was good, haha. If you get the fish fry “dinner” it comes with fries, onion rings, a roll, and cole slaw. So.Much.Food. I didn’t finish it all, but it was tasty.

My mom was with me and she ordered a hot dog and onion rings. She enjoyed the use of the condiment bar:

Jumpin Jack's condiment bar

As you can see:

Jumpin Jack's onion rings and hot dog

All in all, the food is worth it, the atmosphere is fun, and I’d suggest going. The staff takes a role in contributing to the 50s feel with yelling slogans, being in a pleasant mood, and serving up fast (but still good) food. Plus, after you eat you can get ice cream and, depending on when you go, enjoy a water ski show!

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Anonymous on August 13, 2011 - 3:10 PM

    I am glad that someone wrote a blog about “JJ’s”
    I really can’t stand the food there, but you said it all very nicely. I think it is the atmosphere that makes the subpar food taste tolorable. 🙂

  2. #2 by Kayla on August 13, 2011 - 3:13 PM

    The atmosphere is definitely what makes it, otherwise I would save myself the trip and have a BBQ at home!

  3. #3 by Mom on August 13, 2011 - 7:10 PM

    I felt exactly the same way…Okay food for a drive-in but the staff, ice-cream and atmosphere (water ski team show practice) made it a fun place. Not exactly where I expected to celebrate after buying your wedding dress though! haha

  4. #4 by Heather Caroprese Welch on August 13, 2011 - 7:25 PM

    I went here once and when my beverage was empty one of the staff members came and refilled my cup. The service is not typical of a drive-in place, and they treated all the kids present like VIPs. I like that.

Leave a Reply

