Homemade spaghetti goodness

I’ve officially entered the world of making my own homemade pasta! Ok, I’ve only done it once so far, but it was so easy! Definitely more time-consuming than buying a box of pasta and cooking it, but well worth the satisfaction and bragging rights if you’ve got the time.

The recipe I used to make spaghetti was a basic egg pasta recipe that came with the KitchenAid Mixer:

4 large eggs

1 Tb water

3 1/2 c sifted all-purpose flour (TRUTH: I’ve never sifted flour and didn’t this time either)

1/2 tsp salt

All of these ingredients are put in the mixer bowl and combined with a flat beater on speed two for 30 seconds. Then the flat beater is swapped for the dough hook, and kneaded for two minutes (still on speed two). Then you take the dough out of the bowl and knead by hand for two minutes. It should look something like this:

Homemade pasta in the process of setting

After kneading the dough needs to set for 20 minutes. Do as I did, go sit down and enjoy a glass of wine. After setting, I used a roller to begin to flatten the dough, then divided it into pieces that would fit through the KitchenAid attachment. I had a little difficulty getting the attachment to fit on the mixer right, as you can see here:

But if you attach it right, things will go a little more smoothly:

I put the dough through three different times, each time making the dough thinner. Once it is thinned, you attach the spaghetti maker attachment and begin feeding the dough through:

Spaghetti in the making

I choose to boil the pasta for use right away, though there are options for drying it to keep for the future (which I will someday soon explore). Boiling the homemade pasta is just like boiling any kind of pasta- add some salt and oil to the water, let it boil, add the pasta.

Spaghetti boiled and ready to go!

I’m lucky enough to have an awesome fiance who spent the day making homemade sauce, so we had a DELICIOUS meal:

mmmm time for dinner!

It really was as easy as it sounds. Again, more time consuming- not exactly a throw-together meal, but there’s something super satisfying about knowing all of the ingredients that went into your meal. Next voyage will be making lasagna noodles!

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jackie on May 23, 2012 - 1:19 PM

    Sounds amazing! Next time, will you be making a vegetarian lasagna? If so, I will be stealing the recipe.

  2. #2 by Kayla on May 31, 2012 - 3:42 PM

    Yes, it will definitely be veggie. I have made it twice before and have not yet found a recipe I really like, so it will be a new one! I’ll post about it.

Leave a Reply

