Pancakes! Giveaway! Yay!

Before I start, don’t judge me for selling out. I’m still giving my honest opinions.

I received an email from Price Chopper recently about doing a giveaway on my blog. I would receive a set of pancake mix (Central Market Classics Sweet Cream Buttermilk), syrup (Price Chopper Maple Syrup- Grade A dark amber), and tea (Central Market Classics Cranberry Blood Orange- Black Tea), plus an additional set to giveaway. I agreed. I mean, who doesn’t like free stuff? So, here goes.

To make the pancakes I used a pancake decorator (below, to the left…thing that looks weird) I received last Christmas (thanks, Phil!). The decorator lets you make your pancakes in whatever fancy little way you like- though I’ve learned after a few tries that you can’t get too crazy. You still gotta flip whatever you’ve created.

A decorator and a griddle. If you can’t figure out which is which, well…

I’ve found that you can make words, as long as they are compact. It also helps a lot to have O’s, since those are just little pancakes. Conveniently, I thought of a word with three O’s:

Hah! A little product placement of my own.

The pancake mix required little effort- add water and stir. I let the mix sit for a few minutes, I’ve been told this makes them fluffier. *shrugs* While the mix set, I boiled some water and got my tea together. I’m not a huge tea person, I like it- don’t especially love it. But  I will say I find this tea rather enjoyable. It’s “cranberry blood orange” and what I like about it is that it has flavor and sweetness on its own, I prefer it without honey. However, as someone who enjoys being an Earth-friendly compost maker, I HATE the packaging. The package the tea comes in is plastic, not paper, and the tea bag itself is made out of some kind of synthetic material. Normally you can compost a tea bag (just make sure you take out the staple!), but I have no idea what this material is. Since it feels like plastic I’m going to go ahead and assume I shouldn’t throw it into the compost. Boo.

As for the pancakes? I enjoyed them. If I’d been thinking ahead more I would have bought another brand to compare, but alas I did not. I do not make pancakes often and when I do I make homemade buttermilk pancakes, I found these to be a decent enough alternative. I did enjoy that they were fluffy, I often find that your typical box mix pancake is flat and rubbery.

I was most impressed with the syrup. When I picked up the package from Price Chopper I was PUMPED they didn’t give me fake syrup. You know, the kind that comes in bottles like this. I was really impressed with the syrup’s genuine taste. I need to do a little more homework though- syrup is expensive and I’d like to find out how much the syrup cost. I’ll get back to you on that.

But enough about me- try the pancakes for yourself. As promised, I received a second set to giveaway:

Want? Comment.

To win these for yourself, comment on this post. Comment with your own pancake-making adventure, or how much you love this blog, or a shout-out for Memorial Day…and you’ll be entered.  I’m pretty open to anything. I will pick a random winner on June 1 at 6 p.m. GO!

And a special thank you to Price Chopper for including me in their social media adventures. They do a great job keeping connected with people- follow them on Twitter or Facebook to see for yourself.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Dave & Tawni on May 28, 2012 - 6:10 PM

    Will you come to my house and make them for me?!! 😉

  2. #2 by Jodie P. on May 28, 2012 - 6:22 PM

    I love the word “Foodonia” spelled out in pancakes! Great job!

  3. #3 by KK on May 28, 2012 - 6:40 PM

    you can talk to my dad about maple syrup….

  4. #4 by Anonymous on May 28, 2012 - 6:51 PM

    I make pancakes every Saturday. A tribute to my Grandma. Tradition for my kids to learn, enjoy and carry on.

  5. #5 by Christine on May 28, 2012 - 8:39 PM

    The pancake decorator is pretty cool – any clue where I could buy one? We are huge pancake eaters and that contraption would be cool to try out.

  6. #6 by Kayla on May 28, 2012 - 9:27 PM

    I’ve seen it at Price Chopper before, one of those display case things at the end of the aisle. I’ll keep an eye out for another one!

  7. #7 by Valerie on May 28, 2012 - 9:29 PM

    Christine – Phil found the pancake decorator at the Price Chopper in Colonie (just past Kohls) though I’ve seen them at other Price Choppers as well.
    Kayla – I really prefer undercooked pancakes (similar to how much like how I enjoy cookie and brownie batter….). I wonder how how this mix matches up when still slightly runny. Hmm. I’ll have to give it a whirl and let you know (which, ahem, would be easy if I happened to be the winner). 🙂

  8. #8 by Balancing Lena on May 28, 2012 - 9:36 PM

    I love the CM buttermilk pancake mix. I typically substitute milk for water, and use the dry mix with lukewarm water as a thickening agent for all my gravy and stew recipes.

  9. #9 by Bill Traver on May 29, 2012 - 8:54 AM

    Good Review – this could be the start of something big with more free samples coming your way. I do prefer whole wheat pancakes which I make from scratch on Sunday mornings. It was nice they gave you real maple syrup. Their Central Market line of products usually does feature some higher end products.

  10. #10 by JanelleS on May 29, 2012 - 8:54 AM

    I just made pancakes this AM for my family! They love them!

  11. #11 by Kayla on May 29, 2012 - 8:58 AM

    Bill- when I make homemade pancakes I love using whole wheat flour. Though I’ve never made them myself at home, I love the oatmeal pancakes from Cafe Madison.

  12. #12 by Tina on May 29, 2012 - 12:58 PM

    Would love to make some pancakes for my boys this weekend! Love your blog and love Price Chopper!

  13. #13 by Bill Traver on May 29, 2012 - 1:12 PM

    adopted from The Tassajara Bread Book (serves 2 perhaps)

    3/4 cup whole wheat flour
    1/4 cup quick oats
    1 tsp baking powder
    2 tbsp buttermilk powder (I use Saco Cultured Buttermilk Blend)
    2 tbsp oil
    3/4 cup water
    2 eggs separated – whip eggs whites

    mix ingredients in order listed folding in stiffly beaten egg whites as last step

    cook on griddle

  14. #14 by alicialegg on May 31, 2012 - 8:44 AM

    Great post Kayla. I think it is terrific that your blog is getting this kind of attention. We were just looking for a new maple syrup so this came just in time. What is your home made recipe for buttermilk pancakes? Or should we look forward to them in a future post? 🙂

  15. #15 by Kayla on May 31, 2012 - 3:40 PM

    Confession: I may have, on occasion, only cooked one side of the pancake (though that one side more than normal). Totally agree on the underdone thing.

    Please don’t judge.

  16. #16 by Kayla on May 31, 2012 - 3:41 PM

    Any excuse to talk to your dad…

  17. #17 by Kayla on May 31, 2012 - 3:42 PM

    Thanks, Jodie! All leads back to my WNYF days, haha.

  18. #18 by Kayla on June 3, 2012 - 8:53 PM

    Wow, I’m sorry for the delay here…but we do have a winner! #5 was picked so Christine is the winner! Christine- I’ll send you an email. Congrats!

    Thanks for reading and commenting, everyone! I hope to do this again soon!

  19. #19 by Anonymous on June 3, 2012 - 9:23 PM

    Woohoo! Super excited!

Leave a Reply

