Vegetarian Shepherd’s Pie

Veggie shepherd’s pie (pardon my dirty fork in the background…oops)

Before I start, I legitimately thought that “shepherd” was spelled “shephard.” You’ve failed me, schooling.

Anyway, I have to admit I’ve recently fallen off the vegetarian train. By “recently” I mean the last four months I’ve been eating meat…oops. That being said, I’ve decided to start up again. In the spirit of doing so, here’s my vegetarian recipe for shepherd’s/shephard’s/whatEVER pie. This is for a 9×9 pan.

You’ll need:

8 medium potatoes (I don’t care what kind, get what you prefer. I like red.)

2-3 Tb butter

Around 1 cup of milk

Half a bag of frozen corn- around 8 oz.

1 can kidney beans

1 can black beans

1 can cannellini beans (AKA white kidney beans)

1/4 cup shredded cheese (something with an herb is nice)

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

Fresh herbs! Oh wait- you aren’t growing your own like me this summer? In that case…

1/2 tsp thyme

1/4 tsp basil

1/4 tsp marjoram

 

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Set out frozen corn to thaw a little while prepping the rest of the food (does NOT need to completely thaw, it’s going in the oven for 35-40 minutes).

You can cheat and use instant mashed potatoes, I’ll admit to having done so on occasion. If you are making your own, boil the potatoes, mash them, and add the butter and milk to make creamy. When you have the potatoes ready, homemade or instant, add the herbs, salt, and pepper. If I have any extra herbs I also like to save them to season with the beans.

Drain and rinse all of the beans, add to the bottom of 9×9 pan. If you wish, sprinkle some herbs and salt and pepper with the beans and mix. Layer the corn on top of the beans and then layer the mashed potatoes on top of the corn. Sprinkle some pepper or herbs on top.

Place in an oven and bake for 35-40 minutes, until you notice the mashed potatoes are starting to brown a little (see convenient image below). Remove from an oven and allow to cool for 10 minutes, the mashed potatoes keep it all contained so no worries, it will be plenty warm. And then…eat! Don’t let your eyes fool you- small portions are perfect! That’s a hunk of mashed potatoes on top and you will get full fast.

See? Starting to brown. Done-zo!

 

 

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Courtney C. (@peaceloveapple) on August 28, 2012 - 10:22 AM

    I want to go to there.

  2. #2 by Bill on September 4, 2012 - 12:13 PM

    Shepherd’s pie (not vegetarian) is a standard at Rolling Stone backstage buffets. No one touches it before Keith breaks the crust or there is a very bad scene. Maybe you should send one of these to the Stones if they are ever in town again and see if it meets Keith’s approval. It sounds like a worthy subsitute to the original especially with some crusty mash on top.

Leave a Reply

